We all have been glued to our phones and mindlessly scrolling through social media lately. Especially, if we talk about the reels section of Instagram. Often, people try to cut down their screen time on Instagram by disabling their account temporarily or deleting the account itself.
If you have also felt the addiction to the Instagram app and want to cut down some screen time by deleting your account. Well, here is a quick tutorial on how to delete an Instagram account from an iPhone.
Do note that if you delete your Instagram account, all of your photos, videos and reels will be deleted forever, and you won’t be able to recover them. Your account page will disappear as well and all of the messages will also be cleared out.
However, if you just disable your Instagram account it will hide your account and all of your photos, but you can bring them back anytime you want. It isn’t deleted permanently.
You cannot always delete your account from the Instagram app on your iPhone. For instance, if you have a regular Instagram account, then you won’t get any option to delete or disable your account. So, to delete or disable the account you will have to have a business or a professional account.
If you don’t have a business or professional Instagram account, then you will have to delete your account in a generic and regular way. But if you have those special accounts like a business or professional account on Instagram then below is the tutorial on how to delete the Instagram account from an iPhone.
How To Delete or Disable your Instagram Account on iPhone
Previously Instagram gave the option to delete our account using a web browser. But now, they have implemented the option in the iPhone app as well.
- Head to the Instagram App and then tap on Your Profile Picture located at the bottom right corner of the screen.
- Now, tap on the three stacked lines from the top-right corner and tap on Settings.
- Here you need to tap on the Account, then tap on the delete account from the bottom of the page.
- On the next page, you need to choose between deleting your Instagram account or just disabling it temporarily. Do remember that if you tap on the delete button your account will permanently erase all of your media, comments, messages, everything. On the other hand, if you just disable it, then your profile will be hidden until you log back in and none of the photos or videos will be deleted.
- Either of the options you choose, a new popup page will appear that asks you the reason for deleting or disabling your account. Then, fill out the form and confirm your choices.
That’s it, your account will be deleted or disabled depending on your choice that too from the iPhone app of Instagram.
Do note, that if you have chosen to delete your Instagram account, even then you can log back in within 30 days to recover everything and continue using your account as it is.
While disabling the account won’t change anything, it will just hide your profile and bring back everything as it is, once you log in to your account.