What does iPhone Reset Network Settings do?

Vishnu

Confused by the iPhone Reset Network Settings option? Worried about what data you might lose? Here’s everything you need to know.

The Reset Network Settings option on your iPhone will delete all your network related data stored on your iPhone. Information and data such as WiFi password, Hostpot settings, paired hardware devices such as earphones, speakers, watches – all these will get deleted.

What happens when you Reset Network Settings on iPhone?

Before proceeding to reset network settings on your iPhone, you should know that iPhone offers a way to delete specific data related to network. If you are facing an issue with a specific aspect of connectivity, say WiFi, you can manually delete only the data of that particular network setting.

On the other hand, when you choose to Reset Network Settings, all the data related to network and connectivity will get completely deleted. Basically, the network settings will be like the day you bought your iPhone.

All your saved WiFi information, paired Bluetooth devices list, Hotspot settings, mobile network preferences, VPN information (and anything I might have missed) will get completely wiped off from your device.

What will I lose if I reset network settings?

Please note that Reset Network Settings is completely different from resetting your device altogether.

SEE ALSO  How to reduce storage space taken up by "System" on iPhone

Reset Network settings merely wipes out all the network and connection related data from your iPhone. It does not actually delete any other data. On the other hand, resetting your iPhone will return it to the state when you first bought it from Apple.

Note: The Reset Network Settings option will not delete any files, folders, photos, videos, audio, or any other file stored on your device. Everything will be safe.

Here’s a breakdown of what and what’s not will get deleted from your iPhone when you Reset Network Settings.

DeletedNot Deleted
1. Saved WiFi data such as saved networks, and passwords.
2. Personal Hotspot settings.
3. Bluetooth data such as paired devices.
4. Mobile data/network preferences.
5. VPN data.
1. Files and folders.
2. Media such as photos, videos, audios.
3. Apps.
4. Web browsing history, bookmarks.
5. Data for any app you have on your iPhone.

Basically, almost all the data in the below sections of your Settings app will be wiped out for good.

Auto Draft

Note: You will not have any issues with accessing the apps and data, send and recive message and calls, or any other regular functioning of your device.

Your phone will be still able to make and receive calls, the functionality will stay intact. The process only changes any setting you might have enabled or disabled after you have bought your new Apple iPhone.

Disable iCloud Keychain before reset

Why? When you reset the iPhone network settings, all your saved WiFi networks and passwords will be gone for good.

And when you do the reset with iCloud Keychain enabled, the WiFi information that you had saved in the iCloud Keychain also gets deleted. But if you do the reset after disabling the Keychain, they are retained and you can safely sync back the data after reset.

Here’s how to disable iCloud Keychain:

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Tap on your profile at the top.
  3. Tap on iCloud.
  4. Again, tap on Keychain.
  5. In the next screen, disable the iCloud Keychain.

Should I Reset Network Settings?

If you are facing constant issues with connectivity on your device, then Reset Network Settings may be able to help with that. If you have everything in your ability to resolve the issue without a reset but the issue is still not resolved, then this may be the final thing to try.

Though it may sound like a nuclear thing to do on your iPhone, it’s really not. Yes, you will still have to manually re-do all your customized settings that you have on your device. Paired devices, WiFi information – all will be gone. It’s a little annoying, but nothing to be worried about. At worst, it’s a minor inconvenience.

If you are considering to reset network settings on your iPhone, do go ahead and do it without any worries. All your other data is completely safe.

Alternatives to Reset Network Settings

If Reset Network Settings is your first choice, I would advise you to take a step back and try one of the easier options that I have listed down below.

SEE ALSO  How to Check iPhone or iPad Battery Health Efficiently

It would not hurt to try one of these out before performing a network reset.

  1. Restart your iPhone.
  2. Turn the Airplane mode on/off.
  3. Check the internet connectivity from another device to see if the issue is actually with your iPhone or not.
  4. Check your Router and modem to see if they are fine.
  5. Check if an iOS update is available.

What if Reset Network Settings doesn’t work?

If the Reset Network Settings option does not fix the issue, then there is only way to go. Reset your iPhone completely (the Erase iPhone option). But, do note that this would complete delete all the data including but not limited to apps, videos, photos, files, folders – everything on your device.

Your device will become brand new – at least software wise. So, do proceed with caution.

iPhone Reset Network Settings – FAQ

What do Reset Network Settings on iPhone delete?

All your saved WiFi information, paired Bluetooth devices list, Personal Hotspot settings, mobile network preferences, VPN information. If you had a name for your iPhone, it would be reset to iPhone.

Basically, all the information in all the sections mentioned in the screenshot will be gone for good.

How to Reset Network Settings on iPhone?

To reset network settings on iPhone, go to: Settings > General > Transfer or Reset iPhone > Reset > Reset Network Settings.

Will the Reset Network Settings delete photos, videos, apps from iPhone?

No. All your media such as photos, videos, audios and apps (and their data) are all safe.

Leave a Comment